High Expectations & A Presumption of Competency

I was at a great event tonight.  Friends of Different Learners (an incredible organization associated with the Birmingham School District) held their annual Appreciation Awards Ceremony.  I was repeatedly moved as the evening unfolded with performances, awards presentations, and information about the organization’s philosophy and efforts.  A feeling of pure awe overwhelmed me as  I watched a video montage of parents holding signs with phrases like, “I believe my child will change the world” and “I believe my child can achieve his goals” and “My child spreads hope and  joy.”  Among the most impactful take-aways was the sentiment that parents and educators alike must look at all learners with high expectations and a presumption of competency.  I am so fortunate to work in a community that promotes and perpetuates that view.  Teachers are charged by periodic situations and events that reinforce their passion for student achievement, learning, and growth…this night was one of those events for me.

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>