One Thing (or two things)

I realized exactly how long it had been since my last (first) post when I had no idea what my login password was.  I knew it had been way too long when I had to use the e-mail option because I couldn’t even remember my username.  Finally, I called myself out as a no good, procrastinating, non-blogger when I had no idea which e-mail address I registered this thing under.  Suffice it to say I made it here and I’m dusting off the cobwebs (or the blog-webs as it were).  I know there’s hope for me yet.  Bad writing is better than no writing – or so I’m told.  

Two things I recently heard/read that made an impact on me:

1.  We should be “eating the elephant one bite at a time.”  The discussion was about Reader’s Workshop as it relates to the Common Core Standards.  How can the workshop model influence critical thinking, collaboration, creativity, etc.?  And, how can we influence teachers to explore/implement the model?  The suggestion was that we do it one step at a time.  Growth is a long-term endeavor – slow and steady really can win the race.

2.  Stephen Covey wrote, “The main thing is to keep the main thing the main thing.” I love how he makes it sound so simple and how he convinces me that it can be.  I’m working on it:)

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>