Seeing Stars: Making Sure to See the Light Through the Clouds

Today it was dark when I went to work and dark when I left.  That’s common for many educators during the school year, and we couldn’t do it any other way. Educators are the kinds of people who thrive on preparedness, so during the school year we tend to get places early and leave places late.

Anyway as I was leaving I noticed a few stars in the sky above our parking lot.  I realized that I don’t always think about or notice stars.  I’ve been alive for 40 years and I’ve seen many starry skies, so they don’t always impressed me in the way that they technically should.  When I think about it, stars are extremely impressive.  It’s kind of cool that we can see light projected off of things that are so far away.

I thought to myself, while I am seeing the light of a few stars, there are millions of others out there that I’m not seeing.  Then I thought about being up north and seeing a sky completely lit up with stars.  Again, looking up on this fine Detroit winter evening I could only see a few.  It gave me cause to think about what else shines in my life and what I’m able to see shining in any given moment.  It reminded me about the many wonders I miss when I’m distracted.

Seeing only a few stars tonight, when I know how many are out there, reminds me how important it is to do all I can do to recognize all of the wonderful things that shine in my life as frequently as possible.  Awareness is an important piece of the appreciation puzzle, and genuine appreciation feeds positive progress.  How do you take stock of that which shines in your life?

Live. Learn. Lead.

IMG_8177

Dream Big. Work Hard. Be Well.

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>