Content of Character: Being What Dr. King Was Dreaming About

In one of Dr. King’s most celebrated moments he referred to the content of person’s character as a reasonable indicator of how he would see that person judged.  He dreamed of it.  He believed in it.  He saw it as an eventual human reality.  I appreciate that dream.  A lot of people appreciate that dream.  I believe in it, and in doing so the onus falls on me to access and abide by the character traits that are most closely connected to my own core values.  Of course, like everyone else, I can only do the best that I can do.  Thankfully, each moment of each day presents me another opportunity to do just that.  In honor, and in an effort to steadily extend Dr. King’s legacy, we must each live our genuine character so that in turn we stand a chance to truly be recognized and judged by just that.  We must also recognize and judge others only for what we understand to be theirs.

What if each of us was consistently able to break through the many challenges of this fast-paced world into a steady output of the type of character traits that we highlight when we articulate our core values?  There are those who are more consistent than others.  Collectively we seem to exist within a spectrum of true character recognition and connected behaviors.  At forty years old I’m deeply embedded in the learning and growth portion of that spectrum.  Getting closer every day…still a long way to go.  If you’re like me, sometimes you get it right, sometimes you get it wrong, and sometimes you land somewhere in the middle.

Gratitude has consistently aided me in movement toward becoming by best self.  When I give thanks I’m most able to rise into reflective growth and positive progress.  Last week I began a campaign to purposefully insert gratitude into my life on an increasingly regular basis.  I initiated Thankful Thursday so that I would have a platform each week to recognize and express my gratitude with intentionality.  In doing so I hope to work toward reaching, and possibly even periodically redefining my core character potential, with the goal of reaching it again.

Shortly after posting my inaugural Thankful Thursday reflection (hyperlinked to “Thankful Thursday” above) I began to get feedback suggesting that I’m not nearly alone in my thoughts and ideas about the importance and invaluable impact of gratitude.  Of course I’m not.  I even had people enthusiastically report, “I’m going to start celebrating Thankful Thursday next week!”  I can’t fully express how thankful I am for that.  It’s reminding me that sharing gratitude is the logic next step to recognizing and expressing it.

So I’ve decided to take that logical next step and moderate a Twitter chat dedicated to global gratitude…recognizing, expressing, and dialoging.  Because I have four kids – five and under, a new job, and am embedded in the final course work of a PhD program, I’ve had trouble finding dedicated time to engage in some of my favorite chats, let alone think about moderating one.  Also, I know that there are lots of people in parenting, education, and organizational leadership who are equally and even more busy than I am.  To account for that challenge I’ve designed what I think will be a very user-friendly chat.  Here’s how it goes:

  1. Those who want to be involved use the hashtag #thTHX when tweeting out content connected to gratitude…all day/every day.  Pictures, links to blog posts, quotes, personal recognitions – any and all expressions of, or connections to gratitude are welcome and appreciated!
  2. I archive and organize that content.
  3. I put out connected prompts on Wednesday evenings for an all-day, twenty-four hour, informal, ongoing Thankful Thursday chat the next day…and I moderate with adapted prompts throughout.
  4. Those participating connect and dialogue about gratitude with one another.
  5. We grow individually and collectively.

This will be my first stab at it.  I’m not sure what to expect.  I believe that recognizing, expressing, and dialoging about gratitude can enhance our capacities to live, to learn, and to lead.  I’m open to input and exited about ongoing development and adaptation.   I’m hoping that this effort will bring me ever closer to living what Dr. King was dreaming about.  I’m excited about the prospect that you might join me on the journey! #thTHX

Live. Learn. Lead.

IMG_7991

Dream Big. Work Hard. Be Well.

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>