Feel Good Leadership

Today in a conversation about effective leadership my boss suggested that the teachers we work with should feel good as a result of our efforts, and that feeling good will help them be more productive.  It makes sense.  I’m more productive when I feel good.  So, I’ve been thinking about some things that help me feel good.  This list is not exhaustive but it’s a start.

I feel good when:

  • I’m in a positive environment.
  • I’m able to accomplish my goals.
  • I understand the tools that I’m working with.
  • I can find the information I’m looking for.
  • I have enough time to complete my work.
  • I’m organized.
  • I can see that my efforts are making an impact.

I happen to believe that in the end we are each responsible for making ourselves feel good.  However, I do think that we can influence environments, making them more or less conducive to individuals choosing to take on that responsibility.  It seems that when administrators and teacher-leaders stay positive, assist teachers in accomplishing their goals, share information about educational tools, collaborate on comprehensive research, lend a hand to free up some time, help with and guide planning and organization, and identify the results of teacher’s hard work, they’re well on their way to promoting good feelings and enhanced productivity.

It may be easier said than done – but saying it is a good start!  I’ll give it a shot and report back with my progress:).

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>