Thankful Thursday: Not Broken

t2 - Not Broken

Six people live in our house. The other day four of them were making about as much noise as they could. There was whining, there was crying, there was shouting, and there was a kind of a teasing, provocative, relatively nondescript vocalization aimed at the one who was shouting. I think it was something like, “Na, na, na, na, na!” It was coupled with a mischievous smile and some soft but dissonant Machiavellian laughter.

Along with the noise there was motion. There was lots of motion. There was pouncing, there was rolling, there was chasing, and there was running away from the chasing. Noise and motion…there was basically lots of noise and motion.

I actually wondered, “Why is there so much noise and motion?”

Then I actually wondered, “Can’t they just sit still?”

Among the six people who live in my house, one is six years old, one is five years old, one is three years old, and one is one year old (two of us are much older…especially me).

I actually know the answer to the questions I was actually wondering about.

The noise and motion were to be expected. Both are completely appropriate given the ages of people the living in our house. Most of the people I live with are not at the right ages for keeping quite or just sitting still. The answer to both of my questions is, “Because I live with four little kids…and that’s what four little kids sound like and do.”

I might have known it even without the foundation of my extensive studies, reflection, and practice in the area of child development. I would speculate that it’s relatively common knowledge.

I was frustrated in that moment, and that was ok too. People my age (even those of us who chose to have four kids in about five and a half years) tend to become frustrated when kids are running around them shouting, crying, whining, and teasing one another relentlessly. Essentially, we were all doing exactly what we were supposed to be doing. They were hot messes (as it were) and I was a frustrated dad.

In hindsight I can appreciate that it was actually a beautiful thing. It was a thing I’m very fortunate to be able to experience on a regular basis (a very regular basis). I’m truly grateful to be so blessed. I’m quite certain I’ll miss it when it’s gone.

As parents and educators our kids are well served when we remember that learning and growth can be noisy and busy. Sometimes in its finest moments it’s messy and indeterminate. Kids are human beings. No matter how they behave, they’re not broken. They’re doing what they’re supposed to do. Each one a bit differently, but what they are supposed to do nonetheless.

Along those lines, when we adults get frustrated, even with things we know are supposed to be happening, we’re not broken. Adults get frustrated. We also learn and grow in unique ways as we age and mature. It’s part of what makes life so exciting.     None of us are broken. We are what we are and that’s the foundation on which we get to build what we become.

Today I’m grateful for the noise and motion. Today I am grateful for the humanness. Today I’m grateful that in my imperfection I’m not broken, but rather that I’m exactly what I’m supposed to be and on a path paved with positive progress. Today I’m grateful.

Happy Thankful Thursday!

Live. Love. Listen. Learn. Lead.

Thanks!

4 comments

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>