A Joyful Return: Making the Most of Starts and Stops

IMG_7810
Finding joy for learning and growth in every moment causes every moment to be meaningful.

 

In previous posts I’ve articulated my thoughts about the wonderful starts and stops that come along with public education.  One of the great things about being an educator or a student is that we have various opportunities during the course of each school year to refresh, renew, and reset, by leaving our classrooms every once in a while and catching up with family, friends, and even ourselves.  For a few special days and even weeks we get to lounge around and not think about schedules, systems, or structures.

I would argue that we need these breaks to stay fresh.  Another thing about being an educator or a student is that we push ourselves to the brink of our capacity in between these breaks.  In doing so, it truly feels wonderful to take a breath every now and again.

With all of the wonderfulness that comes along with being able to rest in this way, I’ve had an interesting feeling creeping into my belly over the past few days.  It’s not been a feeling of nervousness or stress.  It’s been a feeling of excitement!  Sure, I would love to have more time to spend with my incredible wife and kids, and the thought that the five o’clock alarm is going to be ringing in my ears really soon doesn’t exactly thrill me, but I absolutely love my job, I love my school community, and I feel truly blessed to get to be a part of the amazingness that is Meadow Brook Elementary!

As I think about the fact that this break is coming to a close, and that Monday brings the start of another chapter of hard work, exhilarating challenges, and collaborative learning, I’m as motivated as ever to do great things for the students, the teachers, and the parents that I serve.  I’m as motivated as ever to do great things for myself.  And when I don’t hit the mark of greatness (which happens occasionally as a matter of course), I am as motivated as ever to forgive myself, process thoughtfully, find meaningful solutions to real trials, and to mover forward joyfully with positive progress.

Lots of people are coming back to school on Monday.  I believe that an overt attitude of enthusiasm coupled with patience and compassion for the varied emotions that will no doubt be present in every school community, is a viable combination for transitional comfort.

No matter your role, as you go back to your school communities next week I wish you every bit of joy that comes along with the fulfilling work we do.  May energized and meaningful learning and growth accompany your return…and may you never lose sight that you have the power to make it happen!

Live. Learn. Lead.

Dream Big. Work Hard. Be Well.

6 comments

  1. Christie Flayhart

    Thank you, Seth. Too often we focus on the end of a holiday with the concern for the alarm and the return to the daily grind. Because of your reminder, I will flip my mindset and look at it as the opportunity to do meaningful work for and with students, families, and staff. Happy New Year to you & may you all have a joyous return to school!

    • bergseye

      Thank you very much Christie! My primary mission in writing this blog is a commitment to reflective learning and growth, & when I hear that its contents have positively impacted a reader it thrills me to no end! I truly appreciate your thoughtful comment! Here’s to a wonderful return this week:)!

  2. Michael Behrmann

    This is so very true, Seth. My feelings exactly, but you articulated it so well. Somehow, I never manage to sleep the night before that first day back from a break. Never could and never do!

    • bergseye

      Indeed Michael, and everyone who works with you can feel that excitement pouring out of you every day! Ironically, this might be the time that we need the most sleep…hopefully you’ll get some soon:)! Thanks for reading, and thanks for the positive feedback!

  3. Lisa Haubert

    Mr. Berg,

    How refreshing to read about your enthusiasm to come back to Meadow Brook after a wonderful holiday break with your family! Thank you for your dedication to our children!

    • bergseye

      Thanks Lisa…what an incredible comment to receive! Meadow Brook is a great place to be, populated by wonderful families like yours, and it’s my extreme pleasure to be a part of it! I really appreciate that you took the time to read and give that feedback. It means a lot!

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>