Compartmental Eyes: A Focus Strategy for Busy People

Parents and educators are faced with a multitude of distractions over the course of any given day.  In any given moment, we’re required to be cognizant of lots of people and their many individual and collective needs.  Specifically regarding the management of children, I frequently hear the words “organized chaos” and “herding cats.”  Not terribly flattering, but sometimes our work can feel overwhelming.

Children are easily excitable, they’re enthusiastic about their curiosities and their interests, and they move really fast.  These are all wonderful things when it comes to learning and growth.

Educators and parents are extremely busy people.  They’re passionate about development, they’re constantly considering strategies and ideas for perpetuating positive progress, achievement, and joy, and they care deeply about the safety and wellbeing of their children and the students that they serve.  These are all wonderful things when it comes to learning and growth.

All of the wonderful things mentioned above (and more) are not only wonderful, but they’re necessary.  Also, there seem to be limitless additional wonderful things that contribute invaluably to the course of raising and educating our children and our students.  Insomuch as that’s the case, parents and educators must harness the power of each, and in working to do so effectively, we are faced with the potential for significant and frequent distraction…all the time.  A good focus strategy can help.

My advice is to compartmentalize using compartmental eyes.  In order to do so a meaningful and in connected ways, I would suggest building what I would refer to as a reflective core.  Actually, you already have one; it’s the combination of your priorities and your core values.  Do you regularly attend to your reflective core?  Are you intentional about how you access it?  How frequently to do you cross-reference it with your movement toward the outcomes you intend?

Make prioritizing a regular and repeated priority, and to scaffold it on a foundation of your core values.  One way this can be done is by establishing, regularly checking in on, occasionally adapting, and framing your ideas, actions, and decisions thought that reflective core.

To effectively view the world through personalized compartmental eyes you should outline the compartments that make sense to you.  Make a list of your core values.  You might make a mental list, you might write it down.  Either way, go back to the list regularly.  Maybe every morning when you wake up, or just before you go to sleep; maybe for a few minutes while you’re eating lunch.  The idea to keep the list fresh, updated, and connected to your growth and development.  My list would include (in no particular order):

  • Teaching and Learning
  • Assuming good intentions
  • Open-mindedness
  • Optimism
  • Communication
  • Reflection
  • Compassion
  • Joy
  • Fun
  • Forgiveness

There’s more, but it’s a good start if I were to articulate some ideas around which I focus my forward progress, both personally and professionally.  Again, the idea of building a reflective core as it relates to a compartmental eyes practice is to be every mindful of what matters to you.  Then there are your priorities.  Some of mine are:

  • Family
  • Community
  • Students
  • The teachers and parents that I serve
  • My administrative colleagues
  • My own intentional learning and growth

Again, there’s more, and they move and shift at times, but keeping them in minds helps me thoughtfully attend to each one.

After making a list of your core values and your priorities, do something goofy.  Visualize creating a pair of glasses with lenses that filter your world through those things.  They could be goggles, maybe a visor, how about a telescope or a magnifying glass.  You could actually make the thing if you’d like.  I was thinking that I might design a box with labeled compartments and literally write brief descriptions of various moments on small slips of paper to help me focus on my reflective core throughout the school year (a really busy time in which I’m more susceptible to distraction and, yes, even frustration).  Using compartmental eyes I would identify potential distractors and either set them aside for future reflection or clean them off of my plate with a simple articulation.

For example, educators receive an unbelievable amount of e-mail communications.  Because of the nature of digital communication, some of those e-mails read in unintended ways.  When I receive an e-mail that hits me wrong, I can turn to my compartmental eyes box, take a slip of paper and two minutes, write something like:  received confusing e-mail…seems upset…assume good intentions…suggest a phone call or in-person meeting…enhance partnership…realize that the common goal is joyful teaching and learning!  I could put my compartmental eyes glasses on while I’m doing it (and hope that no one’s standing at my door thinking I’m silly – even though I am at times).  The practice is intended to change what might be a sleepless night of wondering and worrying into a few minutes of connected reflection, which could potentially lead to the enhanced communication and enriched partnerships that I find so critical to my work.

Overtly developing and repeatedly articulating a reflective core, visualizing a connected lens through which to view the world, and actively combining the two on a regular basis might not be necessary for you.  Some people are really calm, reflective, and patient without all the rigmarole.  However, this is a fast paced, sometimes loud, always busy time of year for parents and educators.  If you could benefit from some strategic focus, I would urge you to adopt and adapt this practice for your needs, and then give it a shot.  If it even stands a chance of enhancing your life, and in turn, your students’ learning experiences, it might be worthwhile.

Live.  Learn.  Lead.

IMG_6051

Dream Big.  Work Hard.  Be Well.

2 comments

  1. Dr. Micki Berg

    I’ve heard “timing is everything.” I just retained a Life Coaching client who us seeking Life-Work Balance. Your post today brought me back to some of my basic principles and added a whole to dimension to my beliefs. I am eager to begin working with my new client, and integrating some of your methods and ideas. Thank you.

    • bergseye

      Thank you mom…and congratulations on the new client! I’m always thrilled to know when someone enters a journey of learning and growth through your coaching! It’s an honor to think that my thoughts and reflections might contribute to that process! Thanks for sharing:)!

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>