Bug Them. It Shows You Know What Matters: Them!

Yesterday I was working at school by myself.  In between tasks I took a short break from the office and walked around the building.  It’s a regular practice of mine.  It’s been a beautiful summer.  Strolling around the grounds has helped to catalyze energized resetting for me as I’ve transitioned from task to task.  Maybe it’s the fresh air, maybe it’s the beautiful scenery, maybe it’s the strolling, I’m not sure.  As they say, do what works for you…so I do.

Along the walk I noticed a family on the playground.  I wondered if it was a Meadow Brook family.  Simultaneously, out of the corner of my eye I noticed a bug.

IMG_6053

Not only had I never seen a bug quite like this one before, but I thought to myself, this is just the type of bug that kids might like to see; not too big, not harry, kind of cute, almost like a decorative lima bean with legs.  What an opportunity!

The family was within earshot.  I called out, “Are you a Meadowbrook family?”  They were.  A Meadow Brook mom was playing in the park with her two daughters.  One of the girls will be entering first grade this fall.  They were walking past me on their way home.  I introduce myself as the new principal, and I asked, “Do you want to see a really interesting bug?”  As fate would have it, they did.  Imagine that, I had access to a really interesting bug at the very same time that these kids wanted to see one; very fortunate for all involved.  Kismet, if you will!  Here’s a useful tip for elementary principals: interesting bugs are good icebreakers when meeting and engaging six-year-olds…just saying.

Together, we explored the interesting bug.

IMG_6056

After a short exploration we released him into the wild unscathed; possible a tiny bit disoriented, but certainly no worse for the wear.  Maybe he even considered it an adventure.

IMG_6059

It was a brief, but very nice spontaneous shared learning experience.  I met a student and part of her family, a student and part of her family met me, and even though I mixed their names up a few times, we got to spend a bit of time together exploring and having fun.  By the end of the outing I had their names down, and they knew mine.  We learned a bit about each other and made a cool connection.

When we meet again in the fall we can ruminate over the interesting bug that we found this summer!  Was this the most significant, momentous, earth shattering interaction in the world?  No.  Was it a good way to perpetuate a culture of enthusiasm, collaboration, and joy?  I think so.

I suppose time will tell.  At the very least, I would suggest that it doesn’t hurt to find and take opportunities to authentically reach out and get to know those you serve at every turn.  In fact, I would suggest that it should be among an educational leader’s highest priorities.  Building trusting relationships feeds positive progress.  So get into the hallways, get into the classrooms, get onto the playground, get into the community, and just get out there and bug them…it will move everyone involved in the direction of learning and growth!

IMG_6015

Dream Big.  Work Hard.  Be Well.

2 comments

    • bergseye

      Thank you so much Amy! I really appreciate that you read these stories…and the positive feedback, support, and encouragement doesn’t hurt:)! As you know, it takes a village. If I am going to be an “amazing principal” – it will be in no small part because of the amazing district we work in, my amazing school community, and amazing partners like you! Truly, thanks for your consistent support & encouragement…it means a lot!

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>