Feeling Good Feels Good

When I’m unhappy I tend to shut down.  I get distracted.  I focus on the unhappiness.  The lens through which I see the world shrinks.  When I’m unhappy I’m very much less interested in exploring, discovering new things, or sharing enthusiastically.  Sometimes when I’m unhappy I sulk or pout.  I spend too much time thinking about blame, loss, and discontent when I’m unhappy.  When I’m unhappy I don’t feel so good.

When I’m happy, I feel really good.  I look for things to learn and ways to learn them.  I smile and I laugh.  I’m playful and pleasant to be around.  I find joy in relatively unassuming ideas.  When I’m happy, simply going for a walk can be exhilarating.  I often see and realize incredible stuff.  Sometimes, when I’m happy, I notice exciting things like wildflowers, caterpillars, and fluffy moss on tree bark that I might have otherwise overlooked.  When I’m happy, I share enthusiastically.  I think that happiness is an important part of learning.  When I’m happy I feel good.  When I’m happy, I feel like learning.  When I’m happy, I feel like there are all kinds of positive possibilities.

To me, one of the most important things that a parent or an educator can do is work hard at building a culture of happiness.  I try to do just that by looking at things from a positive and optimistic perspective, and by working hard to highlight that perspective in my words and in my actions.  Because I don’t always get it right, because I don’t always hit the mark, and because I know that there’s a long road of learning and growth ahead of me, I insert the ambition for ongoing and shared happiness in the scaffolding of my reflective process.

When I think about where I’ve been, what I’ve experienced, where I’m headed, and how I aim to get there, I always ask myself, “will this path contribute to enhanced happiness for me and for those I serve?”  That question helps me focus on what’s important to me.  It reminds that being happy helps people learn, even when they struggle through challenges.  It helps me feel good, and I believe that it increases my ability to affect others in positive ways.  If I’m right, that increased ability might serve me well as a husband, a father, an educational leaders, and so on.  If I’m wrong, I still feel better when I focus on being happy…and that seems good to me.

IMG_5790

Dream Big.  Work Hard.  Be Well.

2 comments

  1. Jon Harper

    Thanks Seth, I really needed this post today! Your positive focus on life always lifts me up. By the way, we stair jumped into our blankets today. Harkens me back to your Stand Up Toddler Post that inspired me in the winter.

    • bergseye

      My pleasure Jon…and thank YOU! It’s great to have such amazing parterres in learning…your work inspires me:)! BTW I come from six siblings, so stair jumping in blankets has been a big part of my life! It sounds like you’re enjoying a relaxing, family-connected summer…well done! I’ll look forward to reading about the Harper family adventures through a leadership/learning lens soon:)!

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>