From My Administrative Toolshed: Inspiration Power-Pack

What an incredible start to an exciting adventure of a new school year.  Already, I’ve been in my building working with multiple groups of outstanding teachers, administrators, and support staff.  It’s inspirational that these groups are spending their time collaborating on preparations for the up-coming influx of students, colleagues, and parents.  This incredible flow of energy has me thinking about what I can do to best serve, support, and encourage all stakeholders in my learning community, now, and over the course of the year.

I’ve been hearing a lot of talk about inspiration lately.  Specifically, about how administrators should be focused on inspiring their communities as they move into each new school year.  I strive to be the kind of administrator who does just that!

So, in what ways can I make sure that I am?  For the purpose of this post I’m putting systems and structures aside, and thinking about inspiration as a commodity.  Where can I get a whole bunch of it?  How can I save it and store it?  How and when do I deliver it?  In what quantities & forms?  To what audiences?  Thinking about these questions has set me on a path paved with connections between inspiration and communication, and that path has led me to recall an almost unbelievably, totally innovative, and exceedingly inspirational artist I recently saw performing on America’s Got Talent.

I was immediately, and thoroughly amazed by Kenichi Ebina, his dedication, and his act.  It was one of the most creative, artistic, and relevant, acts I’ve seen. It was enhanced by the fact that he created the video that was used as a backdrop, he played every character in the video, he designed the concept, and he choreographed each phenomenal move that expertly intertwined him with the media. Moreover, I thought it was particularly relevant because he played it as though he was inside of a video game.  What could be more up-to-date and relevant than gaming? Video games are not only important to our population from a entertainment and social standpoint,  but increasingly, the concept is finding its way into best instructional practices for engaged/meaningful learning.

As you watch the video, notice that the Mr. Ebina’s character is connected to an energy bar (at the top left corner of the screen).  That’s the part that really drives this post home!   What if I’m in a video game?  What if I have an “inspiration power-pack?” What if every time I’m inspired, my “inspiration energy bar” is filled and/or replenished?  What if I could use my “inspiration power-pack” to generate “inspiration energy” from the actions, expressions, and output of the people and things that inspire me…then project it outward?  Granted, “Energy Impact 3: Year of the Public School Administrator,” doesn’t seem like a title that would be flying off the shelf at your local gaming outlet,  however, it’s really working for me right now!

Something To Consider:  Keep an “Inspiration-Energy Notebook.”  Make lists of things that inspire you each day. Reflect on those lists periodically.  Push that inspiration forward through your words and actions.

Dream big…follow your heart…be well!

One comment

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>