Every Challenge is also a Chance

Yesterday I did something goofy.  Those who know me well are not shocked to read this.  I drove my son to his friend’s birthday party at two o’clock.  That doesn’t seem goofy on the surface, but here’s the rub…the party started at ten forty five.  Two o’clock and ten forty five are nothing like each other.  Maybe if I’d mistaken a twelve o’clock party for being at two it would have made some sense.  Twelve and two are similar.  They both have a two in them; they’re both in the PM…similar; ten forty five and two…not similar.

Anyway, we pulled up to the bouncy house warehouse ready to go.  We were super-psyched to party it up with our friends, eat pizza and cake, and we even decided that we were going to ride “the big slide.”  In a perfect world we would have been able to do those things.  But we don’t live in that kind of a perfect world.  We live in a world filled with many wonderful things, including challenges.

My wife and I teach our children that every challenge is also a chance.  So, with a deep pit of frustration and some good old-fashioned guilt in my gut I turned to my bright eyed and bushy tailed son to tell him that we missed the party, and that we were not going to be able to stay.  It took him a minute to process.  The lower lid of his right eye began to fill with a quivering, gelatin-like puddle of water.  Tears didn’t break the seal but they pooled up pretty good.

With a furrowed brow he reminded me that he wanted to ride the big slide.  I reminded him that I knew.  I expressed my deep and sincere apology, gave a massive bear hug (more for me than for him – disappointing the little ones is kind of stingy), then I put my hands on his shoulders and told him it was time to think about the chance that this challenge was giving us.  We decided that we could drive to his friend’s house to drop the gift off.  It would give us a chance to say hi and have a mini one-on-one birthday celebration.  We called, we drove, and then celebrate we did!

The friend was super understanding.  Her parents invited us in…a cup of coffee for me, and some playtime for the kids.  While she showed him her room, the basement, lots of fun books and toys, and each of three super-cool cats, I got a tour of the house.  His friend’s mom is an archeologist and her dad is a musician (lawyer by day).  I learned some fascinating stuff about Tunisian history, saw lots of very interesting artifacts from around the world, and really enjoyed the company of people I hadn’t had the change to get to know previously.  The kids were all smiles, running around the house hand in hand for the better part of an hour and a half.

She wrapped a piece of cake in a paper bowl for him to take home, they hugged their goodbyes, and off we went.  As we pulled out of the driveway he asked, “Daddy, was that a play date?”  It was pretty darn cute.  I replied, “Indeed it was, Bud.”  His face lit up with a gigantic, satisfied smile.  My heart swelled.  What a wonderful chance to spend a nice afternoon enjoying the company of friends.

The week before winter break presents school communities with a range of challenges.  Some of us are excited, some of us are nervous, some of us are happy, some of us are sad, some of us are filled with anticipation, and some of us are wrought with trepidation.  My mission this week is to find the chance in every challenge, to model that effort, and to work with all I have to compassionately support those I serve in doing the same.

A good friend and colleague of mine signs every message with the sentiment, “peace and blessings.”  Seeking to find the chances in life’s challenges helps me to stay grounded in gratitude for having been granted so much peace and so many blessings.  For educational leaders, this week is a time for consistency and calm, focused on a joyful teaching and learning experience for all.

Find the chances when you can.  Peace and blessings to you, your family, and your school community.

Live. Learn. Lead.

IMG_7726

Dream Big. Work Hard. Be Well.

4 comments

    • bergseye

      I’m glad to hear it was meaningful for you Ann – especially because you’ve been instrumental in my journey toward understanding the concept of opportunity within challenge! I hope that all is well and that we can touch base soon:)! Happy holidays!

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>