Open Hearts, Open Minds, Open Doors: 3 Surefire Steps to Enhanced Communication or Your Money Back

I write a lot about communication.  This blog is called Berg’s Eye View because the contents reflect my perspective, and in my world effective communication is critical.  Sometimes I get it right, sometimes I get it wrong, but I’m always thinking about how I can improve.  My goals with regard to communication are founded on joyful learning and growth; both for me and for those I serve.  Here are 3 things that consistently have positive impacts, and seem to catalyze healthy communication more often than not:

Well Wishing

Frustration is really easy to come by in the worlds of parenting and education.  As a teacher and a building principal, I’ve experienced many communication challenges with a multitude of school stakeholders including students, colleagues, and parents.  As a parent, the exhaustion can sometimes lead to frustration and miscommunication in challenging times.  A while back I read some great advise from a researcher/author name Becky Baily (“Conscious Discipline”) who suggested that wishing people well promotes positive communication.  I’ve since found that it’s true.  Open your heart before each interaction (challenging of otherwise).  Always wish everyone well.  No matter what situations you find yourself in, maintain the hope that others are having joyful experiences.  It helps frame communication as a process by which individual and collective solutions are reached.

Believing That People Mean Well

You’re not going to be the only one running around wishing people well.  Unless you’re a mind reader and know that people are seeking negative outcomes, believe that they’re wishing you well too.  It feels better, and I would suggest that they probably are.  In my experience, people are generally, relatively nice.  Dr. Covey is always reminding me to assume good intentions, and I think that he makes a good point in doing so.  Most of the people in our homes and school communities are looking for the same outcomes.  Our spouses, friends, and colleagues want children to learn and grow, they want to realize progress along their own developmental pathways, and they want to function in cultures that encourage and celebrate joy.  Use that to preempt communication challenges.  Get in the habit.  It works.

Considering Multiple Perspectives

Dr. Covey also reminds me that working hard to understand others, their thoughts, and their ideas, is a really good way to enhance my interactions with them.  Again, I think he’s on to something.  Dig deep into listening.  Consider that it’s actually a practice that begins with hearing, but extends well beyond into processing.  When you take time to consider the communication of others with authentic interest and an open mind, you enhance the inherent benefits of collaboration.  Whether the outcome is agreement or not, learning and positive progress are boosted though authentic reflection over multiple perspectives.

So, my communication advice for parents and educational leaders from the classroom to the district level is:  maintain and open heart and an open mind, and doors will open for you and those you serve.  Better yet, when you follow these simple steps genuinely and habitually, others tend to join you.  It’s good stuff.

IMG_6050

Dream Big.  Work Hard.  Be Well.

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>