Rolling Out The Warm & Welcome Mat

I was not warm and welcoming to the first person who stood in my office doorway this morning.  In fact, I was somewhat curt…an unpleasant admission to say the least, but a true one nonetheless.  Incidentally, curt isn’t a good thing to be when you’re trying to grow positive relationships.  Also, I’m guessing it didn’t feel good to the person who experienced me being it.  I really was busy, and on a time crunch, but I know better.  I know that having taken even two minutes to acknowledge and appreciate a valued colleague would have been better for both of us than the thoughtless dismissal I executed this morning (a perfect ten though it was).

Could I really have been too busy to stand up for a moment, walk around my desk, approached a person who went out of her way to greet me, and say something like, “‘Good morning!” or “How ya doin’?”  Could I not have added something to the effect of, “Did you have a nice weekend?”  It was Monday morning after all.  Some might argue that Monday morning is a perfect time to ask about someone’s weekend!  Was I thinking that she would want to have an extended dialogue with me five minutes before school started?  That she would hold me up for some momentous amount of time with some extended diatribe about this or that?  How presumptuous!  In fact, she was probably walking by feeling obligated to say “hello” rather than averting her eyes and speeding past.  She was being nice.  I was being ridiculous.  I was not leading from my core values.

I wish that I were better at taking my own advice.  I’m constantly suggesting that a warm and welcoming attitude, with connected actions to match, is the way to go in fostering a positive culture of collaborative learning.  I am always saying that no great leader was ever venerated by his outstanding productivity, but rather his positive presence, and his ability to communicate authentic compassion for, and caring toward those he serves.  A great leader takes the time to show that he values people, and that’s because – he truly does value them!  And, in spite of my complete and utter lack of warmth or welcome this morning, that sentiment is a core component of my leadership philosophy.  It really is.  What is it about human beings that we can wholeheartedly subscribe to an idea, but not always adhere to it?  Darn moments of weakness…frustrating to say the least!  That’s where reflection comes in.  I didn’t do so good the first time, but believe you me (whatever that means) I made up for it during round two!

The very next person who stood at my office door might as well have been standing on a “warm and welcome” mat.  I even invited the poor fellow in!  Right in the middle of some extremely important typing that I was diligently fixated on, I stood up, walked around my desk, and sat down at the table…all the while, motioning for my colleague to sit down too.  He did.  I listened to some odds and ends about this and that for approximately two minutes before he excused himself.  Not only wasn’t it so bad, but I enjoyed myself…and we both felt good about the interaction.  What a nice injection of positive energy.  Furthermore, I think I may have been a more productive typist of extremely important stuff…and possibly even a more diligent fixator – take that earlier “too busy” self!

I sought out opportunities to spend a few minutes listening and talking to various people throughout the day.  I even extended an authentic apology to the person I “curted” out of my office this morning, and told her about this reflection.  She was probably thinking, “When will this guy stop talking…I’ve got things to do!”  She told me not to worry about.  We had a good laugh, and I decided not to (worry about it).  What I will do is continue reflecting, focus on developing myself as a leader, and work hard to learn from my experiences.  Worry wastes time.  Reflective growth is worthwhile (for me anyway)!  I’m ready and excited to roll out the “Warm and Welcome” mat tomorrow morning.  Join me if you think it might enhance your Tuesday!

 IMG_4528

Dream Big.  Work Hard.  Be Well.

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>