365 Lessons: #32 Minor Frustrations vs. Critical Challenges

365 Lessons

(Critical Thinking About What The World Is Teaching Me Every Day)

#32 Selective Frustration

 

[Lesson Break Down] 

Some things are not worth staying frustrated about.  Every day is filled with a series of experiences.  Some experiences are mild, some are exciting, some are frustrating, and so on.  I’m learning to be selective about which frustrating experiences I hold on to and which ones I leave right where I find them.

_______________________________________________________

It’s not easy to avoid GETTING frustrated by frustrating things.  However, I’m finding out that it’s possible to avoid STAYING frustrated.  So, when a car cuts me off, or when I spill coffee on my white shirt, or when I slip on a patch of ice, or when someone who I may never see again is rude to me, I have a variety of choices – and two in particular.  I can fuel the frustration by over analyzing it, talking about it in negative ways, and/or letting in stick around in some other form or fashion.  Conversely, I can walk right past it.  It sound much easier than it is at first, but it becomes much easier each time I do it. The key is being able to distinguish between minor frustrations and critical challenges; likewise – difficult at first and increasingly less difficult with patience and practice.

It’s nothing new.  “Just let it go,” has been excellent advice for dealing with minor frustrations since the beginning of time.  And it’s nothing new to me.  I’ve understood the concept for a while.  Of course understanding and mastery are two different things.  Also, I do find frustration to be a productive emotion when I can use it to perpetuate critical thinking about something that is worth the time.  As a husband, a father, and an educator there are lots of challenges that must be addressed for my benefit and the benefit of my wife, my children, my students (their families), and my colleagues.  Today I’m thinking about tools that help me to convert frustration into positive thinking and action.  Here’s how I’m looking at it:

 

Minor Frustration   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  Critical Challenge

 

–       1-4 I smile and walk away.

–       5-7 gets a few extra moments of thought and maybe a light-hearted mention.

–       Above an 8 requires some serious critical thinking and hopefully a resolution.

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>